Prizes / Awards


    The Society for Mind-Matter Research institutes a mind-matter prize in order to recognize excellence in scholarship, and to increase the visibility of the Society and its range of activities. The prize distinguishes outstanding and seminal contributions to our understanding of the relationship between the mental and the physical. The prize can, but need not, be combined with a best-paper award for an article published in the Society's journal "Mind and Matter".

    Any member of the Society can nominate candidates for the prize or for the award. Excluded are self-nominations or nominations of current members of the Board of the Society. Nominations should be backed up by criteria such as originality, significance, soundness, and relevance for the understanding of mind-matter relations. They should be submitted to the board member in charge, currently Prof. William Seager (Toronto).

    The winner of the prize or the award will be selected by a committee formed by members of the Board and possibly up to one external assessor. The committee is not obliged to appoint the prize or the award if no nomination is judged worthy.

    Mind-Matter Prize 2017: Thomas Metzinger
    Mind-Matter Prize 2019: David Chalmers
    Best-Paper Award 2020: Alin Cucu and Brian Pitts
    Best-Paper Award 2022: Georg Northoff and Saša Horvat
    Mind-Matter Prize 2023: Michael Turvey
    Mind-Matter Prize 2024: Jerome Busemeyer